Watermelon Summer Salad

P1080583

After some cold, foggy days, the sun has returned  to the San Francisco Bay Area. It finally  feels like summer has arrived, a few days late, a few days past the Solstice. Who knows how long it will last? The climate is strange here, and summers are often less pleasant than the Spring and Fall. But the forecast says it’s going to stay hot for the next week, so real summer food is in order.

I have always loved mint in fruit salads. This salad combines fruit and mint the way I like it, except with savory notes as well. Some of it is inspired by other watermelon salad recipes I’ve seen kicking around the internet. Other parts are inspired by my own personal tastes, and what happened to be in the fridge and garden. The result is a very refreshing salad, perfect for a light lunch or dinner, sitting out on the deck with friends.

Summer Watermelon Salad

4 cups watermelon chunks
2 cups arugula, loosely packed
4 spring onions, chopped finely
8 large mint leaves, chopped roughly
2 tsp candied lemon peel, minced
3/4 cup Feta cheese chunks
1 large Meyer lemon
4 tablespoons olive oil

In a large bowl, combine watermelon, arugula, spring onions, candied lemon peel, mint and Feta. I candy my own lemon peel (it’s really easy, and a good use for all those leftover peels that normally get thrown out), but you can also buy it in stores, or just use a little lemon zest instead. Squeeze the juice of one lemon (it doesn’t have to be Meyer, but that’s what I used because they’re hanging outside my window) onto the salad. Add olive oil. Mix. Serve chilled.

P1080576

2 thoughts on “Watermelon Summer Salad

  1. Hi Ellen. Your blog is a beauty!

    Had dinner with your mom last night and heard about your kayak venture. Now, I have to say that the word kayak has come up for me twice in the last 10 days or so. I must pay attention as this is unusual!

    My seat mate on my flight from Paris to Seattle owns a company called Tofino expeditions. Check out their website…www.Tofino.com

    He was quite cool. Originally from Vancouver. Wife is a doc in Seattle. He was in Europe setting up a Venetian island tour for the fall. Cool.

    I was wondering if you might like to connect with him given your kayak interest, your multilingual abilities, your great writing and photography skills, etc.

    I have no idea if he is looking for people to work with, but I’m happy to connect you if you want. Anyway, not being pushy or nosey but connections are always good. Let me know!

    All the best to you! Francine.

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Nice to hear from you again, Francine. Glad that you’re enjoying the blog, even if I’ve been a little delayed in posting recently! Sure, I’d be happy to be connected with this person. I can send you my email if you don’t have it (I think you might only know the Cookie Elf one!) Thanks again for the support!

Leave a Reply

